A conviction for driving while intoxicated in New York can have serious consequences. Blood alcohol content, driving behavior and concurrent criminal convictions impact the fines and penalties the courts impose.
The state’s penalties become increasingly severe if you receive more than one DWI conviction. The state’s definition of a DWI violation is driving with a BAC of 0.08 or higher. However, you may also receive a conviction for driving while ability impaired by drugs, including prescription medications.
Penalties for second DWI or DWAI convictions
Your first DWI or DWAI-Drug conviction is generally considered a misdemeanor, though you may be charged with a felony if you have an accident that leads to someone else’s injuries or death. However, if you receive a second conviction within 10 years, the state considers the crime a felony. A conviction results in a fine of $1,000 to $5,000, up to four years in jail and six months of mandatory license revocation.
If your BAC is 0.18 or higher, the state considers it an aggravated DWI. A second conviction of this type results in the same potential fines and jail time, but the mandatory revocation is 18 months.
Penalties for three or more convictions
Three or more convictions lead to the revocation of your license for at least a year, but it may also result in a permanent loss of your driving privileges. The fines increase to $2,000 to $10,000, and the maximum jail time is seven years.
New York takes DWI and DWAI seriously. Multiple convictions can create financial and personal hardships that have lasting impacts on your quality of life.